What's new in 2019

2019 Summary of changes:


The Australian Tourism Industry Council are embarking on a new, integrated system for Australia’s tourism industry business development programs which will incorporate existing programs such as the Australian Tourism Accreditation Program, Star Ratings and the Australian Tourism Awards.

This integrated program, known as the Quality Tourism Framework (QTF), will provide greater efficiencies for those who are engaged across multiple programs and provide an assurance of minimum standards being met by all.
For 2019, there are small adaptions to some category descriptors and questions. In addition, the minimum standards of the framework will be incorporated into the question set to ensure that all entries into the awards program are operating legitimately.


  • To be eligible for any of the accommodation categories (17 – 23, excluding 19. Unique Accommodation), all entrants are required to meet a specific Star Rating (dependent on their category), through the completion of a pre-assessment module in your submission portal, which will calculate a proposed rating.  Those who are already Star Rated will not be required to complete a pre-assessment as the rating has already been confirmed. Note: annual Star Rating renewals are due July 2019.  
Accommodation category Star Rating required to enter
Luxury 5 star
Deluxe 4 or 4.5 star
Standard 3 star +
Unique Not required
Hosted 3 star +
Self Contained 3 star +
Caravan & Holiday Park 3 star +





  • All entrants in non-accommodation categories are required to complete Level 1 of the QTF. This pre-assessment will be included within the submission portal. Those who are already accredited through QTF (formerly known as ATAP) will not be required to complete a pre-assessment.  
  • There is no additional cost for 2019 NSW Tourism Awards entrants to complete the required pre-assessments. Additional costs will only apply if an entrant wishes to finalise the accreditation process through the QTF.

  • Important note: please be sure to click through to the Australian Tourism Awards - you can complete the business standards questions (QTF level 1 & accomodation standards) within the awards portal. 


Entrants should refer to the 2019 category descriptions  - do not refer to criteria specifications and eligibility descriptors from the 2018 (or earlier) NSW Tourism Awards as they no longer apply. 

New: Category 28 – Excellence in Accessible Tourism 
This category is open to NSW tourism businesses or attractions delivering tourism products or services that are welcoming for people of all abilities. Entrants must demonstrate how they have developed a tourism experience to become more accessible. 

Note: Word limit is 8000 words.

This Award is only offered at the NSW Tourism Awards level. Winners in this category will not proceed to the Australian Tourism Awards.


There will be an ability to include a link for a video for the Festivals and Events and Destination Marketing categories.  Please Note: There is no score to be awarded.  

Entrants will need to upload their video to a platform such as Youtube and provide the link to the video.  

Location of link field with submission:
Festivals & Events – Tourism Excellence Section
Destination Marketing – Execution Section